chicken noodle soup

quick and easy chicken noodle soup

Remember the days as a child when you got sick and then your mommy would spend hours to make you the yummiest heartiest chicken soup ever? Well, at some point in the last twelve years, those days ended for me and I started having to make my own. It sucks, right? I have to make my own soup and buy my own Nyquil and tuck myself into bed, all while being sick… but I digress. The only good thing about all of this is that instead of having to stand at the stove for hours making broth, my chicken noodle soup takes less than fifteen minutes from start to finish to make. Yippee!

8

I’ve been chilly and loopy and achey all over and it has not been fun. When you’ve been as sick as I have for the past few days, you don’t really have an appetite for anything, much less the energy to move out of bed. (That’s bad; stay hydrated!) This soup is perfect for those kinds of days, because not only is it super quick to make, it’s also easy to consume, hearty and filling, and incredibly satisfying when you’re feeling under the weather. Now, of course it’s not going to taste like the soup your mom used to make when you were a kid; what do you expect from a soup that takes about ten minutes to make and gets its flavor from bouillon cubes? But it’s pretty darn close, and still really yummy in its own way! (My sister and I actually prefer it over my mom’s soup… shh, don’t tell her!) And it makes only two servings, which is perfect when I’m cooking for only myself and my sister. You could easily double or triple it if you wanted to make it for the whole family though!

Anyways, I’ll stop rambling now. Here’s the recipe!

2The ingredients: cooked chicken, peas and carrots (or whatever vegetables you please), noodles, basil, turmeric, chicken bouillon cubes, cornstarch, and a splash of cream (not pictured because I’m doped up on sleepy meds). (And some salt and pepper, to taste. I find that the bouillon is salty enough that I never really need to add any extra, but I always dump in a buttload of pepper at the end.)

3

This is the real star of the show. This soup gets almost all its flavor from this magical little cube.

Anyways, dump all that into a pot of water (except the cornstarch and cream, those will come later) and let it boil for a few minutes.

4

These are the noodles I used. They’re itty bitty stars; aren’t they adorable?! Because they’re so tiny, they take only about four or five minutes of boiling to cook, but if you decide to use bigger noodles, be prepared to let the soup cook for a tiny bit longer.

5

Once the noodles are tender (but still with a little bite to them, since they’ll continue to soften in the hot soup), add a splash of cream to your cornstarch and whisk it up till it’s all combined. Make sure you scrape the sides of the bowl, cornstarch tends to stick to it when it gets wet! (You can use milk if you don’t have cream. I usually use milk because I rarely have cream. Shh.)

Pour it into your bubbling pot of soup and stir for a few minutes until the whole thing is lovely and thickened. Now you can taste it to make sure it’s seasoned to your liking. Add some lemon, hot sauce, black pepper – whatever you please!

7

Yum, look at that adorable star-shaped pasta! Now drink your soup, be merry, and stay cozy till you feel better! Or, that’s what I plan to do at least. =)

9

Chicken Noodle Soup
Printable Recipe Card
Ingredients:

  • 2 cups water
  • 1/4 cup chicken, cooked, shredded
  • 1/4 cup tablespoons small pasta, uncooked
  • 1/4 cup frozen peas
  • 1/4 cup frozen carrots
  • 1 chicken bouillon cube
  • 2 teaspoons basil
  • 1 teaspoon turmeric
  • 1/2 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 2 tablespoons heavy cream

1. Bring water to a boil. Add in chicken, pasta, vegetables, bouillon cube, basil, and turmeric. Let boil for 5-7 minutes, or until pasta is tender.
2. Whisk cornstarch into the cream. Pour into the boiling soup and stir continuously for two minutes, or until thickened.
3. To serve, pour into bowls. Season further with salt and pepper to taste.

Leave a Reply

